top of page

Why (a)VeryData

Why am I starting this site?


1) I want to be a data scientist.

Somehow I feel all data scientists, well the good ones anyway, have blogs. And I want to be a good one. I want to share my learnings and explorations with other people and help and inspire others.


2) I want to share.

I love to tell people about what I do. I have an Instagram highlight to prove it (https://www.instagram.com/stories/highlights/17855866699265868/) but believe it or not, my high school friends don't really care about nerdy data stuff. So I've struggled to find the right outlet to share. My wife is kind, but she could care less (although I did find a visualization she said 'This is actually cool the other day' (see: http://thedailyviz.com/2016/09/17/how-common-is-your-birthday-dailyviz/ (post for another day))). So, if you like data and visualizations, I hope this will be a happy stop.



3) I find a lot of cool things and don't know where to put them.

I have pages on my computer, bookmarks in reddit, a OneNote with random links, a Word document with my thoughts, and a lot of unstructured files. Things that I'm interested in. Things that inspire me. Things I want to refer to later.


4) I kinda forget how refreshing journaling is.

Yes, blogging is pretty much just a journal. And it actually is very therapeutic to write out your thoughts. Maybe this will add to my mental state in 2020.


5) I also forgot how fun it is to look back and how powerful a blog is for that.

Back to my old blogs. Those things are loaded!!!! Very powerful insight to how my life was back then and what I cared about.


Here's to this new blog! Cheers!


Recent Posts

See All

Personal: Day 1, focusing on goals

In light of last night's post (that I think posted this morning), I made sure I prayed to God and read out of the New Testament this morning. I did eat like 5 mini muffins for breakfast, so the carbs

bottom of page